Food Tank Summit

Food Tank Summit 2016 Live Stream

Food Tank’s website and newsletter is one of our favorite sources for important food news surrounding climate change, food waste, sustainable agriculture and food technology. They are dedicated to building a global community of for safe, healthy and nourished eaters through education, engagement and creating networks of people, organizations and content to push for change in the food system. Danielle Nierenberg, the president of Food Tank, is an amazing writer, speaker and activist – she’s definitely one of our heroes in this food revolution.

Danielle and Food Tank are hosting the Food Tank Summit 2016, April 20 – 21, at the American University in Washington, DC. The summit brings together over 80 leaders, activists, chefs, policy makers, researchers, farmers and media for a series of panels from “Food Security and Conflict” and “Farmers Leading the Food Movement” to “Beyond Calories: The Need for Nutrient Dense Diets” and “The Future of Organic”. The entire two days are available for everyone to watch through a live stream, which is embedded below. We’ve also included the schedule so you can see when you’d want to tune in. Videos will be available on the Food Tank website for later viewing. We’d highly recommend taking some time to watch – it’s an incredible line up of speakers discussing important topics that apply to all Seeders, Feeders & Eaters. You can also follow through social media with #FoodTank.
 

 

 

 

FOOD TANK SUMMIT PROGRAM

 

April 20th, Day One

 

*All times are EST
 
8:00am Registration and Complimentary Breakfast

Breakfast courtesy of Panera Bread. Coffee courtesy of Vigilante Coffee Company.

9:00am Welcome: James Goldgeier, Dean of the School of International Service, American University

9:10am Welcome: Danielle Nierenberg, President, Food Tank, @DaniNierenberg, @Food_Tank

9:20am Opening Keynote: Karen Washington, Urban Farmer and Activist; Co-Founder of Black Urban Growers and Rise & Root Farm, @karwasher

9:30am Panel: Uncommon Collaborations—Finding Solutions by Building Partnerships

To combat hunger, obesity, food waste, and poverty, business as usual is no longer an option. We need to innovative strategies that bring together NGOs, governments, and academics to work together cohesively to solve these problems.

Keynote: Jeff Dunn, President, Campbell Fresh Division, Campbell Soup Company, @ChiefCarrot, @CampbellSoupCo

Moderator: April Fulton, National Geographic, @NatGeoFood, @fultonhere

Jason Clay, Senior Vice President, Markets; Executive Director, Markets Institute, WWF, @WWF
William Burke, Research Scholar, Center on Food Security and the Environment, Stanford, University, @FoodSecurity_SU
Amanda Oborne, Vice President of Food & Farms, Ecotrust, @AOborne, @Ecotrust, @Food_Hub
Pam Fessenden, Director, Office of Market and Partnership Innovations, Bureau for Food Security, U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID), @FeedtheFuture
Diane Hatz, Founder and Executive Director, Change Food, @dianehatz, @changeourfood
Alexander Müller, Study Leader and Steering Committee Chair, TEEBAgFood, @ajm55 @TEEB4ME

10:45am Break

11:00am Panel: Beyond Calories: The Need for Nutrient Dense Diets

Over the last 50 years, research organizations, governments, and development agencies have focused on increasing calories available per person—yet, today, nearly 1 billion people continue to go hungry and another 2.3 billion people are overweight or obese. Clearly, filling people up is not enough—we need to actually nourish them with nutrient dense crops and foods that are good for both people and the planet.

Keynote: Dan Glickman, Executive Director of the Aspen Institute Congressional Program and Vice President, Aspen Institute, @AspenInstitute

Moderator: Simran Sethi, Author, Bread, Wine, Chocolate: The Slow Loss of Foods We Love, @simransethi

Roger Thurow, Senior Fellow Global Food and Agriculture, Chicago Council on Global Affairs, @rogerthurow, @ChicagoCouncil

Bill Telepan, Founder and Chef, Telepan Restaurant, @billtelepan
Mitchell Davis, Executive Vice President, James Beard Foundation, @kitchensense, @beardfoundation
Ashley Koff, RD, Creator, The Better Nutrition, Simplified Program, @ashleykoff
Spike Mendelsohn, Chef; Chair, DC Food Policy Council, @chefspike
Ari Novy, Executive Director, U.S. Botanic Garden, @arinovy, @USBotanicGarden

12:15pm Complimentary Lunch and Networking

Lunch courtesy of Chipotle and ShopHouse.

1:00pm Keynote: Tom Vilsack, Secretary of Agriculture, U.S. Department of Agriculture, @USDA

1:15pm Panel: Protein for the Planet

The public health and environmental impacts of industrial livestock production are vast—from water pollution and food borne pathogens to the spread of zoonotic disease, the price of meat is much more than consumers pay at the grocery store. But farmers, chefs, entrepreneurs, and consumers are finding ways to reduce the effects of protein including plant-based foods, insect flour, and grass-fed production that can provide this important nutrient without sacrificing human health or environmental sustainability.

Keynote: Arlin Wasserman, Founder and Partner, Changing Tastes; Chair, Sustainable Business Leadership Council – Culinary Institute of America, @arlinwasserman, @CIACulinary

Moderator: Sam Fromartz, Co-Founder and Editor-in-Chief, Food & Environment Reporting Network, @Fromartz, @FERNnews

Dan Kish, Senior Vice President, Food, Panera Bread, @panerabread
Rodney Scruggs, Executive Chef, Occidental Grill & Seafood, @Chef_RJScruggs, @OccidentalGrill
Greg Sewitz, Co-Founder, Exo, @GregSewitz, @exo_protein
Michael Berger, Founding Partner and Vice President of Supply Chain, Elevation Franchise Ventures, LLC, @elevationburger
Shen Tong, Managing Partner, Food Future, Inc.; Founder, FOOD-X, @shentong, @FoodFutureInc, @foodXhealth
Leslie Barcus, Executive Director, VegFund, @VegFund

2:25pm Panel: Food Security and Conflict

This panel is presented by Conflict Cuisine.

International and regional conflicts can displace farmers and transportation routes and lead to malnutrition or even famine. NGOs and development agencies can send emergency food aid to those most in need, but there are also ways to use agriculture to prevent conflict in the first place. By making rural areas intellectually stimulating places to live and providing farmers with the resources—including information and communication technologies—to do their jobs better and make more money, young people can see agriculture as an opportunity, not a burden.

Keynote: David Beckmann, President, Bread for the World, @davidbeckmann, @bread4theworld

Moderator: Tim Carman, Food Writer, Washington Post, @timcarman, @washingtonpost

Cullen Hendrix, Josef Korbel School of International Studies, University of Denver, @cullenhendrix, @josefkorbel
Johanna Mendelson Forman, Professor, Conflict Cuisine, American University, @Johannawonk, @conflictcuisine
Kimberly Flowers, Director, Global Food Security Project, Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS), @kimberlytalksag, @csisfood
Ray Offenheiser, President, Oxfam America, @roffenheiser, @OxfamAmerica
Allan Jury, Vice President of Public Policy and Senior Advisor, World Food Program USA, @WFPUSA
Lauren Herzer Risi, Senior Program Manager, Environmental Change and Security Program, Wilson Center, @LaurenHerzer, @TheWilsonCenter

3:40pm Break

3:50pm Panel: Innovative Models for Food Recovery and Reducing Food Waste

An astounding 1.3 billion tons of food is wasted globally each year, presenting not only a moral conundrum as millions go hungry, but also environmental challenges. As food decomposes in landfills, it releases methane, a greenhouse gas that is 27 times more potent than carbon dioxide. Fortunately, many NGOs are finding ways to reduce food loss and food waste by educating eaters, businesses, and policymakers about making better use of leftovers; better buying, packaging, and storage methods; better transportation; and better policies.

Keynote: Rhea Suh, President, Natural Resources Defense Council, @RheaSuh, @NRDC, and Dana Gunders, Staff Scientist, Food and Agriculture Program, Natural Resources Defense Council, @dgunders, @NRDC

Moderator: Eliza Barclay, Science and Health Editor, Vox.com, @elizabarclay, @voxdotcom

Evan Lutz, Co-Founder and CEO, Hungry Harvest, @evanlutz92, @HungryHarvest
Regina Northouse, Executive Director, Food Recovery Network, @ReginaDM, @FoodRecovery
Roger Gordon, Founder, Food Cowboy, @FoodCowboy
Patrick O’Neill, CEO, Amp Your Good LLC, @PONeill1982, @ampyourgood
Nancy E. Roman, President and CEO, Capital Area Food Bank, @nancyroman1, @foodbankmetrodc
Riana Lynn, Co-Founder and CEO, FoodTrace, @rianalynn, @TheFoodTrace

5:00pm Closing: Danielle Nierenberg, President, Food Tank, @DaniNierenberg, @Food_Tank

5:10pm Adjourn to Reception
 
 

April 21st, Day Two

 
8:00am Complimentary Breakfast and Coffee

Breakfast courtesy of Panera Bread. Coffee courtesy of Vigilante Coffee Company.

9:00am Welcome: Danielle Nierenberg, President, Food Tank, @DaniNierenberg, @Food_Tank

9:05am Opening Keynote: Debra Eschmeyer, Executive Director of Let’s Move!; Senior Policy Advisor for Nutrition Policy, @letsmove

9:10am Opening Keynote: Raj Patel, Writer, Activist, and Academic, @_RajPatel

9:20am Panel: Legislating Change in Agriculture

This panel will focus on the legislation and policies that are needed to make real change in the food system including campaign finance reform and reforming the Farm Bill.

Keynote: Congresswoman Chellie Pingree, U.S. House of Representatives, (D) Maine, @chelliepingree

Moderator: Devin Henry, Energy and Environment Reporter, The Hill, @dhenry, @thehill

Ali Berlow, Author, The Food Activist Handbook, @AliBerlow
Claire Benjamin DiMattina, Executive Director, Food Policy Action, @FPAction
Deb Atwood, Executive Director, Meridian’s AGree: Transforming Food and Agriculture Policy, @AGreeAgPolicy
Dr. Kathleen Merrigan, Executive Director of Sustainability, George Washington University, @katmerrigan, @GWtweets
Holly Freishtat, Food Policy Director, City of Baltimore, @bmorefoodczar

10:30am Break

10:45am Panel: Investing in the Food Movement

This panel is presented by the Barilla Center for Food & Nutrition.

This panel will focus on what investors, foundations, and venture capitalists are doing to promote innovation in agriculture—from food start ups to new technologies that can increase efficiency.

Keynote: Eric Kessler, Founder, Principal, and Senior Managing Director, Arabella Advisors, @eric_kessler, @arabellaadvisor

Moderator: Fabíola Ortiz dos Santos, Journalist, IPS – Inter Press Service, @ipsnews

Eileen Gordon, Founder, Barnraiser, @EileenGordon11, @barnraiser
Rodney Ferguson, President and CEO, Winrock International, @rodneyferguson, @WinrockIntl
Sara Roversi, Co-Founder, You Can Group, Future Food Institute; Executive Director, Food Innovation Program, @saroversi, @YouCanGroup, @Ffoodinstitute
Ruth Richardson, Principal, Open Blue Consulting; Executive Director, Global Alliance for the Future of Food, @futureoffoodorg
Behtash Bahador, Finalist, Barilla Center for Food & Nutrition (BCFN) Young Earth Solutions competition
Danielle Gould, Founder and CEO, Food + Tech Connect, @dhgisme, @foodtechconnect

12:00pm Lunch

Lunch courtesy of Panera Bread.

1:00pm Panel: Future of Organic

This panel will bring together scientists and farmers to discuss how organic agriculture compares in terms of yield, nutrition, and profitability to conventional agriculture.

Keynote: Dr. Carlo Leifert, Head of Unit, Nafferton Ecological Farming Group; Research Development Professor of Ecological Agriculture, University of Newcastle, @Uni_Newcastle

Moderator: Allison Aubrey, Correspondent, National Public Radio, @AubreyNPRFood, @NPR

Charles Benbrook, Research Consultant, Benbrook Consulting Services, @chuckbenbrook
Laura Batcha, CEO and Executive Director, Organic Trade Association, @organictrade
Dr. Silvia Abel-Caines, DVM, PhD, Ruminant Nutritionist, Organic Valley, @OrganicValley
Cheyenne Christianson, Organic Dairy Farmer, Grazing Acres Farm

2:15pm Break

2:30pm Panel: Fighting for Fair Food

Food service, farm workers, and other workers in the food industry face injury, discrimination, and often poor working conditions. But groups like FLOC, the Fight for 15, and others are working to increase their rights and create awareness among consumers and companies.

Keynote: Jeremiah Lowery, Political Appointee, D.C. Food Policy Council, @jeremiahlowery1

Moderator: Jane Black, Food Writer, The Washington Post, The New York Times, @jane_black, @nytimes

Baldemar Velasquez, President and Founder, Farm Labor Organizing Committee (FLOC), AFL-CIO, @baldemarfloc
Wenonah Hauter, Founder and Executive Director, Food & Water Watch, @WenonahHauter, @foodandwater
Lauren Shweder Biel, Executive Director, DC Greens, @dc_greens
Ulises Zatarain, Program Director, Washington Youth Garden, @WashYouthGarden
Niaz Dorry, Coordinating Director, Northwest Atlantic Marine Alliance, @WhoFishsMatters
Dream Hampton, Senior Fellow, MomsRising, @dreamhampton, @momsrising

3:40pm Panel: Farmers Leading the Food Movement

Family farmers produce at least 70 percent of the world’s food, but they are more than just food producers. They’re business women and men, entrepreneurs and innovators, and stewards of the land who deserve to be recognized for the ecosystem services they provide that have widespread benefits. Recognizing and rewarding them for their multiple roles is important for environmental, economic, and social sustainability.

Keynote: George Naylor, Family Farmer; Former President, National Family Farm Coalition

Moderator: Jason Huffman, Agriculture and Trade Editor, POLITICO, @JsonHuffman, @politico

Paul Willis, Co-Founder and Manager, Niman Ranch, @Niman_Ranch
Shepherd Ogden, Farmer; Founder and President, The Cook’s Garden
Ben Wenk, Seventh Generation Farmer and Partner, Three Springs Farm, @3springsfruit
Regina Beidler, Organic Valley Farmer-Owner, Beidler Family Farm

5:00pm Ending Keynote: Stephen Ritz, Founder, Green Bronx Machine, @greenBXmachine

5:10pm Closing: Danielle Nierenberg, President, Food Tank, @DaniNierenberg, @Food_Tank

5:15pm Adjourn

1 thought on “Food Tank Summit 2016 Live Stream

Don't hold back, share your thoughts